DBS checks for employers: which check, who is eligible, and how to handle the result
On this page
- What are the four levels of DBS check?
- Which roles are eligible for a standard or enhanced check?
- What are the barred lists, and what happens if I use a barred person?
- What gets filtered from a standard or enhanced certificate?
- Does a DBS certificate expire, and how does the Update Service work?
- How should employers store and use DBS information?
- What about jobs in Scotland and Northern Ireland?
- A DBS checklist for recruiters and agencies
- Questions people ask
A DBS check is a criminal record check from the Disclosure and Barring Service for jobs in England and Wales. There are four levels: a basic check (unspent convictions and cautions, available for any job), a standard check (spent and unspent records, subject to filtering), an enhanced check (the standard content plus relevant local police information) and an enhanced check with a search of the children's or adults' barred lists. Only roles named in law can have the higher levels. As of October 2026, GOV.UK lists the fees as £20, £20, £41 and £41, and Scotland and Northern Ireland use their own disclosure bodies.
This page complements UK right to work checks, which is about immigration status rather than criminal records, and the US FCRA background check process, which works very differently.
Not legal advice. This summarises GOV.UK and DBS guidance, the Police Act 1997, the Safeguarding Vulnerable Groups Act 2006, ICO guidance, and official Scottish and Northern Irish sources, as of October 2026. Fees and filtering rules change; check the linked pages before you rely on them.
What are the four levels of DBS check?
| Check | What it shows | Who can ask for it | Fee (Oct 2026) |
|---|---|---|---|
| Basic | Convictions and cautions from the Police National Computer that are unspent under the Rehabilitation of Offenders Act 1974 | Any employer, for any position | £20 |
| Standard | Spent and unspent convictions and adult cautions that have not been filtered | Roles in the Exceptions Order 1975, e.g. court officers, prison employment, Security Industry Authority licences | £20 |
| Enhanced | Standard content plus information held by local police forces that they consider relevant | Roles in the Exceptions Order and the Police Act 1997 criminal records regulations, e.g. regularly caring for, training, supervising or being solely in charge of children; specified activities with adults receiving health or social care | £41 |
| Enhanced with barred list(s) | Enhanced content plus a check of the Children's and/or Adults' Barred Lists | People in "regulated activity" and a few named positions, e.g. prospective adoptive parents, taxi and private hire licences | £41 |
Source: DBS's guidance for employers, last updated 5 October 2026 with the latest fee change. DBS also offers an Adult First check (£6), a fast search of the Adults' Barred List that can let someone start work with vulnerable adults under supervision while the full certificate is pending.
Which roles are eligible for a standard or enhanced check?
Higher-level checks depend on the employer being entitled to ask "an exempted question", meaning the law lets it ask about spent convictions. GOV.UK puts it this way: access is "only available to employers who are entitled by law to ask an individual to reveal their full criminal history", for roles covered by the Rehabilitation of Offenders Act 1974 (Exceptions) Order 1975, and for enhanced checks also the Police Act 1997 criminal records regulations. The same guidance warns that "knowingly requesting a higher-level check than the legislation allows is unlawful and could be a breach of the Data Protection Act 2018".
In the Police Act itself, a standard certificate application must be countersigned by a registered person with a statement "that the certificate is required for the purposes of an exempted question" (section 113A). That is why standard and enhanced checks run through a DBS-registered body or an umbrella body, while a basic check can be requested by the candidate directly. Other rules from the guidance:
- The minimum age to be asked to apply is 16.
- For a basic check, the employer can ask the candidate to apply to DBS (England and Wales) or Disclosure Scotland, or use a Responsible Organisation with the candidate's consent. The basic check service says processing usually takes up to 3 days and a paper certificate is posted.
- DBS cannot see criminal records held overseas, so a check may be incomplete for anyone who has lived outside the UK.
What are the barred lists, and what happens if I use a barred person?
The Children's and Adults' Barred Lists name people barred from "regulated activity" with those groups. Under section 9 of the Safeguarding Vulnerable Groups Act 2006 it is an offence to permit someone to engage in regulated activity from which they are barred, knowing or having reason to believe they are barred. Section 9(2) creates a separate offence for a "personnel supplier", such as a staffing agency, that supplies a person knowing or having reason to believe they are barred and will be placed in that activity. The maximum penalty on indictment is five years' imprisonment, a fine, or both.
Regulated activity providers also have a duty to refer: if they withdraw permission for someone to do regulated activity because they think the person has harmed or poses a risk of harm to a child or vulnerable adult, or would have done so had the person not left, they must give DBS the prescribed information (section 35). Both sections extend to England and Wales.
What gets filtered from a standard or enhanced certificate?
For certificates issued from 28 October 2023, DBS's filtering rules say standard and enhanced certificates always include:
- all convictions for specified offences;
- adult cautions for specified offences;
- all convictions that resulted in a custodial sentence.
Other records are included only if recent:
| Record (non-specified offence) | Disclosed if received within |
|---|---|
| Adult caution | The last 6 years |
| Adult conviction | The last 11 years |
| Youth conviction (under 18 at the time) | The last 5 and a half years |
| Youth caution, reprimand or warning | Not disclosed automatically |
Anything still unspent also appears. Everything else is "protected" and does not appear automatically, though an enhanced certificate may include protected information if the police consider it relevant to the workforce, under statutory guidance. A candidate answering an exempted question does not have to disclose protected cautions or convictions either, so ask questions that match the filtering rules.
Does a DBS certificate expire, and how does the Update Service work?
The employer guidance is direct: "There is no official expiry date for a criminal record check issued by DBS." The certificate is accurate on its date of issue, some sectors require periodic re-checks, and the employer decides whether to accept a previously issued certificate, checking that its level and workforce (child, adult, both or other) fit the new role and that the identity details match.
The DBS Update Service, as of October 2026:
- covers standard and enhanced certificates only;
- costs the applicant £15 a year (free for volunteers);
- must be joined within 30 days of the certificate being issued;
- lets an employer run a free online status check, if it is legally entitled to that level of check and has the worker's permission, and see the result straight away.
For agencies that redeploy the same temps across clients, this is the main way to avoid paying for a new enhanced check every assignment, provided the workforce and level match.
How should employers store and use DBS information?
Registered bodies must follow the DBS code of practice issued under section 122(2) of the Police Act 1997. According to the employer guidance, certificate information should be "considered only for the purpose for which it was obtained, and should be destroyed after a suitable period has passed - usually no longer than 6 months", and should be used only in the context of a policy on recruiting ex-offenders. Refusing to employ someone because of a spent conviction is unlawful under the Rehabilitation of Offenders Act 1974 unless the role is exempt.
Under UK GDPR, criminal record information is "criminal offence data". The ICO's guidance says a private employer needs a lawful basis under Article 6 and a specific condition in Schedule 1 of the Data Protection Act 2018 (employment is one), often an "appropriate policy document", is more likely to need a data protection impact assessment, and specific wording in its privacy information. Our GDPR checklist for recruiters covers the rest of the candidate data lifecycle.
What about jobs in Scotland and Northern Ireland?
| Nation | Body | Products and fees (as of October 2026) |
|---|---|---|
| England and Wales | DBS | Basic £20, standard £20, enhanced £41, enhanced with barred lists £41 |
| Scotland | Disclosure Scotland | Level 1 and Level 2 disclosures under the Disclosure (Scotland) Act 2020, fully in force from 1 April 2025: Level 1 £25, Level 2 £25, joining the PVG scheme £59, PVG scheme Level 2 disclosure £18 (SSI 2025/25) |
| Northern Ireland | AccessNI | Basic £16, standard £16, enhanced £32 (nidirect) |
GOV.UK notes that someone living in Scotland or Northern Ireland can still get a basic DBS check if the job is in England or Wales; the location of the job decides which body you use.
A DBS checklist for recruiters and agencies
- Decide the level from the role's duties, not the job title: basic unless the role is in the Exceptions Order; barred lists only for regulated activity.
- Use a registered or umbrella body for standard and enhanced checks; verify the candidate's identity documents as the application requires.
- Tell candidates in your privacy notice what you check, why, and how long you keep it.
- Ask the candidate whether they subscribe to the Update Service before ordering a new check, and record their permission for the status check.
- Assess any disclosure against your ex-offender policy and the actual job, give the candidate a chance to explain, and record the decision rather than the certificate.
- For agency placements with vulnerable people, pair the check with the two references required by regulation 22 of the Conduct Regulations; our reference check template helps.
- Destroy certificate information once the decision is made, usually within six months.
Temps placed through an agency also gain equal treatment rights after 12 weeks with a hirer; see the Agency Workers Regulations guide.
Questions people ask
Can any employer ask for an enhanced DBS check?
No. Standard and enhanced DBS checks are only available for roles listed in the Rehabilitation of Offenders Act 1974 (Exceptions) Order 1975 and, for enhanced checks, the Police Act 1997 criminal records regulations, such as work with children or with adults receiving health or social care. GOV.UK warns that knowingly requesting a higher-level check than the law allows is unlawful and could breach the Data Protection Act 2018. Any employer can ask a candidate for a basic check.
How much does a DBS check cost in 2026?
As of October 2026, GOV.UK lists £20 for a basic check, £20 for a standard check, £41 for an enhanced check and £41 for an enhanced check with barred lists, after a fee change announced on 5 October 2026. The Update Service costs £15 a year, and standard or enhanced checks for qualifying volunteers are free.
Does a DBS check expire?
No. DBS says there is no official expiry date; a certificate is accurate on its date of issue, and the employer decides whether to accept an older one or ask for a new check. If the applicant subscribes to the Update Service, an employer that is legally entitled to the check can see online, with the worker's permission and free of charge, whether anything has changed.
Will an old caution or conviction show on a standard or enhanced DBS check?
Not always. Under the filtering rules for certificates issued from 28 October 2023, adult cautions for non-specified offences are removed after 6 years, adult convictions for non-specified offences after 11 years and youth convictions after 5 and a half years, unless the conviction led to a custodial sentence. Convictions and adult cautions for specified offences are always disclosed, and youth cautions are not disclosed automatically.
Do I use a DBS check for a job in Scotland or Northern Ireland?
Not usually. For jobs in Scotland, checks come from Disclosure Scotland, which has issued Level 1 and Level 2 disclosures and PVG scheme membership under the Disclosure (Scotland) Act 2020 since 1 April 2025. For jobs in Northern Ireland, checks come from AccessNI, which charges £16 for basic and standard checks and £32 for enhanced checks as of October 2026.