Comparisons

BrightHire vs Carv: interview intelligence or volume-hiring agents?

On this page
  1. How do BrightHire and Carv compare at a glance?
  2. What is each one built for?
  3. How does each one get into live interviews?
  4. How does each run AI screening?
  5. Which ATS does each connect to?
  6. What does each cost?
  7. Which one suits your team?
  8. What should you ask both vendors?
  9. What if neither fits?
  10. Questions people ask

BrightHire and Carv both use AI to capture and act on hiring conversations, but they start from opposite ends of the process. As of October 2026, BrightHire, owned by Zoom since December 2025, is an interview intelligence platform for in-house hiring teams: it runs inside Zoom without a bot, drafts ATS scorecards from live interviews and sells an asynchronous AI interviewer. Carv is an autonomous hiring platform for volume hiring: a library of agents that screen, schedule and handle admin, plus a voice AI that phones every applicant within minutes in 99 languages. Neither publishes prices. Choose BrightHire to improve the interviews your people run; choose Carv to have agents run more of the funnel.

Every vendor fact below comes from BrightHire's, Zoom's and Carv's own sites, checked in October 2026 and linked. For each product on its own, see our BrightHire review and our Carv AI review; for longer shortlists, see BrightHire alternatives and Carv alternatives.

How do BrightHire and Carv compare at a glance?

"Not stated" means we did not find it on the vendor's pages, not that the product cannot do it.

QuestionBrightHireCarv
What it isInterview intelligence for in-house hiring teams; part of Zoom"Autonomous Hiring Platform" for volume hiring
Live interviewsNative in Zoom, no per-call bot; joins Meet as a participant; recorder address on TeamsJoins calls, chats and meetings through your calendar; bot or not, not stated
Phone screensPhone capture listed in Recruiters plan; method not statedPhone calls supported; Aircall dialer; Voice AI runs screens itself
AI screeningBrightHire Screen: async voice or video interviewsVoice AI: outbound calls as soon as candidates apply, 99 languages
After a live interviewNotes by competency, scorecard auto-draft submitted in one clickNotes, write-ups, scorecard and pre-filled ATS fields to review
ATS links18 named16 named
Published priceNot publishedNot published
Security listedSOC 2 Type II, GDPR, CCPA, annual third-party bias auditsISO 27001, SOC 2 Type II, bias-audited models, NYC-144 readiness
Best forIn-house teams improving interview quality, especially on ZoomStaffing and volume hiring that wants agents to absorb screening and admin

Sources, as of October 2026: BrightHire AI notes, BrightHire pricing, BrightHire integrations, BrightHire compliance, Zoom's acquisition post; carv.com, Carv zero admin, Carv Voice AI, Carv integrations, Carv for Bullhorn.

What is each one built for?

BrightHire's homepage describes AI that elevates "every search, kickoff, interview, and decision": interview planning, real-time interview guides, AI notes, one-click scorecards, interview quality analytics and an AI coaching agent for interviewers. Its customers, as Zoom's announcement lists them, are enterprises such as Canva, Duolingo and Instacart. The person BrightHire serves is the hiring team: recruiters and the hiring managers who interview with them.

Carv's homepage names staffing, logistics, retail and BPO, and describes agents that "autonomously handle the busywork, so your team can operate at 10x capacity without adding headcount." Its agent library covers hosting applicants, job discovery, screening, assessment, scheduling, routing, onboarding, rediscovery, compliance and admin. The person Carv serves is the operation: a team that has to process thousands of applicants without growing.

How does each one get into live interviews?

BrightHire's notes page is specific: on Zoom its Interview Assistant "opens natively inside Zoom with no per-call bot required"; on Google Meet it joins as a participant through the calendar connection; on Microsoft Teams you add [email protected] to the invite or #brighthire to the meeting details. Its Recruiters plan lists video, phone and in-person capture, without describing the phone and in-person methods.

Carv's Bullhorn page says it connects to recruiter calendars, "joins every candidate interaction," and supports video, phone, text chat and in-person meetings, with the recruiter choosing which interactions it handles. Its integrations page lists Zoom, Teams and Google Meet, and Aircall for launching calls from a candidate's profile. We did not find whether a visible participant appears on video calls.

If your interviews run on Zoom and candidates dislike bots, BrightHire has the documented advantage. On Teams, both rely on something being added to the meeting or the calendar, so test who forgets.

How does each run AI screening?

This is usually the deciding question, because the two approaches give candidates very different experiences.

BrightHire Screen: asynchronous interviews

BrightHire's AI interviewer page and pricing page describe agents built from job descriptions and interview plans, with customizable questions and scoring rubrics and auto-generated follow-ups. Candidates respond "asynchronously, with no scheduling required," by voice only or video, from any device. Transcripts, summaries and rubric scores appear in the ATS, and candidates can be invited automatically when their ATS stage changes. It is sold standalone or with the platform.

Carv Voice AI: outbound calls within minutes

Carv's Voice AI page describes an agent that dials applicants as soon as they apply, holds an adaptive conversation with your qualifying questions, checks availability and essentials, and writes notes, transcripts, availability and notice period back to the ATS. It says the agent speaks 99 languages, switches language mid-call, can run hundreds of calls at once and can bring in a recruiter when needed. The Bullhorn page also lists a chat screening agent.

What that means in practice

Async interviews let candidates choose their moment and suit roles where a short video answer is acceptable. Outbound calls reach applicants while they are still interested, which matters most in hourly and shift hiring where candidates apply to several employers in a day. Either way, an AI that asks the questions and produces a score can fall under AI hiring rules. In New York City, Local Law 144 requires a bias audit within the past year, a public summary and candidate notice before an employer or agency uses an automated employment decision tool, according to the city's Department of Consumer and Worker Protection (checked October 2026). BrightHire names babl.ai as its bias auditor; Carv lists bias-audited models and NYC-144 readiness. Ask both for the audit summary and the notice text; our guide to Local Law 144 and AI note takers explains when a tool is in scope. This is not legal advice.

Which ATS does each connect to?

BrightHire's integrations page lists 18 ATS and Carv's integrations page lists 16. They overlap on only four.

Listed byApplicant tracking systems, as of October 2026
BothGreenhouse, Lever, Workable, Bullhorn
BrightHire onlyAshby, Workday, iCIMS, Rippling, SmartRecruiters, Gem, Jobvite, Oracle Taleo, SAP SuccessFactors, BambooHR, Breezy, Comeet, JazzHR, Fountain
Carv onlyJobAdder, Loxo, Recruit CRM, Avionté, Avature, Ezekia, Carerix, OTYS, RecruitNow, Recruitee, Jobylon, Tigris

The split mirrors the audiences: BrightHire's list is enterprise in-house systems; Carv's leans to staffing and European systems. If your ATS is on only one list, that usually settles the comparison before anything else. BrightHire's Enterprises plan lists custom ATS integrations if yours is missing. Agencies should also test what each tool actually writes to the record; our guide for staffing agencies explains how to test an ATS integration properly.

What does each cost?

Neither publishes a price as of October 2026. BrightHire's pricing page names BrightHire Screen and three plans, Recruiters, Teams and Enterprises, each behind a demo request, and says there are no extra fees for training or implementation. Carv's pricing address redirected to its homepage when we checked, and the homepage asks for a demo or discovery call.

Because both sell automation as well as seats, ask for quotes in the same units: cost per recruiter per month for live interview capture and notes, and cost per AI screening interview or call at your expected monthly volume. Also ask which plan holds the controls your security team needs; at BrightHire, SSO and role-based access are listed from the Teams plan, and custom retention and redaction in Enterprises.

Which one suits your team?

Your situationLeans towardWhy
In-house team on Zoom with many hiring managersBrightHireNative in Zoom; scorecard drafts; interview quality analytics
Hundreds of applicants per role, hourly or shift workCarvVoice AI calls applicants within minutes; scheduling agents
Candidates screened in many languagesCarv99 languages listed for Voice AI
ATS is Workday, iCIMS or SmartRecruitersBrightHireListed; not on Carv's list
ATS is JobAdder, Loxo, Carerix or OTYSCarvListed; not on BrightHire's list
You want to improve how interviewers interviewBrightHirePlanning, topic coverage and a coaching agent
You want recruiters out of first-round calls entirelyCarvOutbound voice and chat screening agents

Best for: BrightHire suits in-house hiring teams, especially on Zoom, that want structured interviews and better feedback. Carv suits staffing and volume-hiring operations that want AI agents to screen, schedule and log candidates at scale.

What should you ask both vendors?

Both
- Live interview on [our platform], hosted outside your company.
  What does the candidate see?
- Phone screen on [our phone setup]: steps, notice, time to notes.
- Show a real [our ATS] record after the call. Which fields?
- AI screening: who approves the questions and knockout criteria,
  how candidates reach a person, and the latest bias audit.
- Written price in the same units: per recruiter per month and per
  AI screening interview at [N] a month; minimum term.

BrightHire
- Which plan includes SSO and our retention period?
- Teams and Meet commitments in the order form.

Carv
- Does a visible participant join video calls?
- What is "Carv for recruiters" on your homepage waitlist?

What if neither fits?

Some teams find they want neither an enterprise platform nor screening agents, only reliable notes for the interviews their recruiters run, with nothing joining the call. For that, see AI note takers without a bot. We make Interview Signal, one of those tools: a Windows and macOS app that captures audio on the interviewer's computer, runs a question guide during the call and keeps transcripts on that computer, at published prices but with no ATS integration and no AI interviewer; everything about BrightHire and Carv on this page comes from their own sites, linked and dated.

Questions people ask

What is the difference between BrightHire and Carv?

BrightHire is an interview intelligence platform for in-house hiring teams, owned by Zoom since December 2025, that records live interviews, drafts ATS scorecards and offers an asynchronous AI interviewer. Carv is an autonomous hiring platform for volume hiring, with a library of AI agents for screening, scheduling and admin and a voice AI that phones applicants as soon as they apply, as of October 2026.

Is BrightHire or Carv cheaper?

Neither publishes prices as of October 2026. BrightHire's pricing page names BrightHire Screen and three plans, Recruiters, Teams and Enterprises, with request-a-demo buttons. Carv's pricing address redirects to its homepage, which asks for a demo or discovery call. Ask both for a written quote in the same units, such as cost per recruiter per month and cost per AI screening conversation.

Which is better for a staffing agency, BrightHire or Carv?

Carv is built for staffing and other volume hiring and lists agency systems such as Bullhorn, JobAdder, Loxo, Carerix and OTYS. BrightHire is written for in-house talent and hiring teams; it lists Bullhorn among 18 ATS but no other agency systems on the page we checked. A staffing desk would usually start with Carv and compare it with tools built for agency notes and submittals.

How do BrightHire's and Carv's AI interviewers differ?

BrightHire Screen invites candidates to an asynchronous interview they take by voice or video whenever they choose, with your questions and rubric, and posts transcripts, summaries and scores to the ATS. Carv's Voice AI phones applicants the moment they apply, holds an adaptive screening conversation in up to 99 languages, writes notes and fields such as availability and notice period back to the ATS, and can hand off to a recruiter.